NASDAQ Composite Index

Description & Eligibility Criteria for the NASDAQ Composite Index

The NASDAQ Composite Index measures all NASDAQ domestic and international based common type stocks listed on The Nasdaq Stock Market.

Launched in 1971, the NASDAQ Composite Index is a broad based Index. Today, the Index includes over 3,000 securities, more than most other stock market indices. The NASDAQ Composite is calculated under a market capitalization weighted methodology index.

Eligibility Criteria
To be eligible for inclusion in the Composite the security's U.S. listing must be exclusively on the Nasdaq Stock Market (unless the security was dually listed on another U.S. market prior to January 1, 2004 and has continously maintained such listing), and have a security type of either:

American Depositary Receipts (ADRs)
Common Stock
Limited Partnership Interests
Ordinary Shares
Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs)
Shares of Beneficial Interest (SBIs)
Tracking Stocks

Security types not included in the Index are closed-end funds, convertible debentures, exchange traded funds, preferred stocks, rights, warrants, units and other derivative securities.

If at any time a component security no longer meets the above eligibility criteria, the security is removed from the Composite Index.

List of companies and symbols.