Glossary BG Image

European Union (EU)

Browse Terms By Number or Letter:
Financial Terms By: e
European Union (EU)

An economic association of European countries founded by the Treaty of Rome in 1957 as a common market for six nations. It was known as the European Community until January 1, 1994 and currently comprises 28 membercountries. Its goals are a single market for goods and services without any economic barriers, and a common currency with one monetary authority. Not all countries share the common currency. Currently, the Eurozone (countries using the Euro) are 17 countries.

Copyright © 2018, Campbell R. Harvey. All Worldwide Rights Reserved. Do not reproduce without explicit permission.