Fuel truck drivers vote for strike in northern England -union

Hoyer Petrolog fuel truck drivers based at Britain's Stanlow oil refinery have voted overwhelmingly in favour of 14-day strike action in November, Britain's Unite union said on Friday.

Adds detail

LONDON, Oct 16 (Reuters) - Hoyer Petrolog fuel truck drivers based at Britain's Stanlow oil refinery have voted overwhelmingly in favour of 14-day strike action in November, Britain's Unite union said on Friday.

"The strikes will cause considerable disruption to fuel supplies for road users and the aviation sector in northern England," Unite said.

A spokesman for Essar Oil UK, the operator of the 200,000 barrel per day Stanlow refinery, did not immediately respond to a Reuters request for comment.

Unite announced strike action on Nov. 2, 4, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 23, 25 and 27.

All of the strikes will begin at 0001 BST (2301 GMT) and end at 2359 BST (2259 GMT).

(Reporting by Ahmad Ghaddar Editing by David Goodman and Louise Heavens)

((Ahmad.Ghaddar@thomsonreuters.com; +442075424435; Reuters Messaging: ahmad.ghaddar.thomsonreuters.com@reuters.net))

The views and opinions expressed herein are the views and opinions of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Nasdaq, Inc.

Reuters

Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest international multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people every day. Reuters provides trusted business, financial, national, and international news to professionals via Thomson Reuters desktops, the world's media organizations, and directly to consumers at Reuters.com and via Reuters TV.

Learn More