press center press release

Nasdaq Stockholders Elect Members to Board of Directors


NEW YORK, May 05, 2016 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Nasdaq (Nasdaq:NDAQ) stockholders today elected all nominated directors at the Annual Meeting of Stockholders. Board members Charlene T. Begley, Steven D. Black, Börje E. Ekholm, Robert Greifeld, Glenn H. Hutchins, Essa Kazim, Thomas A. Kloet, Ellyn A. McColgan, Michael R. Splinter, and Lars R. Wedenborn were elected for a one-year term. Subsequent to the Annual Meeting, Börje E. Ekholm was re-elected to serve as Chairman of the Board by the Board of Directors.

Nasdaq stockholders also approved the following proposals:

  • The company’s executive compensation on an advisory basis; and
  • Ratification of the appointment of Ernst & Young LLP as Nasdaq’s independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2016.

The stockholders also approved a stockholder proposal relating to shareholder proxy access. 

Nasdaq is committed to good corporate governance, as it promotes the long-term interests of stockholders, strengthens Board and management accountability and builds public trust in the company.  For more information on governance topics visit

About Nasdaq

Nasdaq (Nasdaq:NDAQ) is a leading provider of trading, clearing, exchange technology, listing, information and public company services across six continents. Through its diverse portfolio of solutions, Nasdaq enables customers to plan, optimize and execute their business vision with confidence, using proven technologies that provide transparency and insight for navigating today's global capital markets. As the creator of the world's first electronic stock market, its technology powers more than 70 marketplaces in 50 countries, and 1 in 10 of the world's securities transactions. Nasdaq is home to 3,700 listed companies with a market value of $9.3 trillion and over 17,000 corporate clients. To learn more, visit: or


In This Story


Nasdaq Press Center

Read the latest press releases, request a press kit, and get in touch with our press team.

learn more