press center press release

NASDAQ to Open Its Market Remotely From Beijing, China

Published

ADVISORY, April 2, 2007 (PRIME NEWSWIRE) --

What: NASDAQ President & CEO Bob Greifeld, Ambassador Randt, the longest serving U.S Ambassador to China, and Representatives from Chinese companies listed on NASDAQ will ring the NASDAQ opening bell remotely from The Grand Hyatt Hotel in Beijing, China on April 3rd at 9:30 a.m. (EST). In addition, NASDAQ, Ambassador Liu Beiwei, Consul General in New York, will co-host a reception from the NASDAQ MarketSite in Times Square where the live Opening Bell from China will air simultaneously. The NASDAQ Opening Bell ceremony will be broadcast on NASDAQ's seven-story Tower overlooking Times Square, where more than a million people pass by daily. It will also be broadcast via NASDAQ's MarketSite studio which conducts daily broadcasts aired around the globe. NASDAQ is the first-ever U.S. exchange to open its market from China. The Opening Bell is a ceremonial event that represents The NASDAQ's virtual market model. As a result, NASDAQ can be opened from any location bringing together investors and market participants from around the world to mark the beginning of the trading day. Who: Bob Greifeld, NASDAQ President and CEO U.S. Ambassador to China, Ambassador Randt Representatives from: Baidu China Grentech Ctrip Focus Media KongZhong Corporation Origin Agritech Sina Corporation Vimicro International Home Inns eFuture Information Harbin Electric JA Solar Holdings When: Tuesday, April 3, 2007 at 9:30 a.m. ET NASDAQ Opening Bell Ceremony: 9:30 p.m. (China Standard Time) Why: NASDAQ lists a total of 40 Chinese listed companies from a diverse group of industries. China is a key market for NASDAQ and the ceremony celebrates its listed companies in the region as well as the burgeoning economy and global prominence of the Chinese market. Where: NASDAQ MarketSite - 4 Times Square - 43rd & Broadway - Broadcast Studio Live from The Grand Hyatt Hotel, Beijing, China

Webcast:

A live Webcast of the NASDAQ Opening Bell will be available at: http://www.nasdaq.com/reference/marketsite_about.stm

Broadcast: China

The entire NASDAQ Opening Bell ceremony live from China can be made available to all local and regional broadcast outlets from 12:45 GMT (8:45 p.m. China Time) to 13:45 GMT (9:45 p.m. China Time)

IS-2/12Kx3C Slot F Orb Loc: 169' E U/L: 14361.5Mhz Vertical D/L: 3812.5Mhz Vertical Allocated Bandwidth: 9Mhz FEC: 3/4 Symbol rate: 6.62 Video standard: PAL (for Asia Pac) Signal is in the clear.

Please call Napa Teleport NOC (707-251- 1101) if you experience any downlink problems.

New York

The opening bell is available from 9:20 a.m. to 9:35 a.m. on uplink IA6 C band / transponder 24, downlink frequency 4180 horizontal. The feed can also be found on Waterfront fiber 1623.

Radio Feed:

An audio transmission of the opening bell is also available from 9:20 a.m. to 9:35 a.m. on uplink IA6 C band / transponder 24, downlink frequency 4180 horizontal. The feed can be found on Waterfront fiber 1623 as well.

RSVP:

Please RSVP by contacting Harriet Benson on +44 77 67 308 359 or at harriet.benson@nasdaq.com or Jolene Libretto on +1 646 441 5220 or at jolene.libretto@nasdaq.com

CONTACT: NASDAQ Harriet Benson +011 44 (0) 20 7825 5544 harriet.benson@nasdaq.com Jolene Libretto 1.646.441.5220 Jolene.Libretto@nasdaq.com

In This Story

NDAQ

Nasdaq Press Center

Read the latest press releases, request a press kit, and get in touch with our press team.

learn more